Organizations Tertiary

NCC Gives N65m Grant To Eleven Universities For Research

Nigeria Telecommunication Commission. Photo: THISDAY
Nigeria Telecommunication Commission. Photo: THISDAY

The Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) has given out N65 million to eleven Nigerian universities to boost the telecommunication sector.


Umar Danbatta, Executive Vice Chairman of NCC, revealed this at the presentation of award letters to the priviledged universities.


The Vice Chairman stated that the award was in recognition of the role of the academia in the development of the sector that the commission instituted the research grant project.


“These proposals, which are varied result in the development of commercially viable prototypes. For the 2018 financial year, the commission received 63 research proposals and after stringent evaluations, 11 proposals were found to have met the set criteria.


“This is a clear testimony of the objectivity and complexity of evaluation process in ensuring that the best quality is achieved and the researches are such that will produce prototypes with the potential of providing solutions to both local and global challenges.


“I look forward to being here again to receive you as you demonstrate to the commission and selected industry stakeholders the modalities for the use of your prototype that will result from this collaborative effort of the commission,” he stated.


On his part, Ephraim Nwokonneya, Director, Research and Development, NCC, said that the award was the commission’s determination to facilitate research and innovation in the Telecom industry in Nigeria.

“The beneficiaries of the award of research grant in the academis emerged out of a very competitive selection process,” he stated.

Report revealed that the beneficiaries of the grant include, Ahmadu Bello University, University of Lagos, University of Ibadan, University of Port Harcourt, Bayero University Kano, University of Jos, University of Nigeria Nsukka, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Federal University Minna and Federal University of Technology, Akure.

Post Comment